Cheesy Batter Bread

August 12, 2012 at 8:58 pm 3 comments

Here’s a quick bread recipe. I’m really glad I remembered I had this one too, since I have a package of cheddar I picked up several weeks ago when it was on sale. It’s fine – no mold or anything, just has gotten quite sharp. I like sharp cheese (I remember my dad did too), but the others in the fam aren’t too much of a fan. Whatever kind of cheese you have will work. This is a good one all by itself, or with a bowl of soup, or with a salad. (Hint: I like it best warmed 5 – 10 seconds in the microwave if it’s not hot.)
Ingredients:
1/2 Cup butter
1/2 Cup warm milk
1/4 Cup warm water
2 1/2 Cup flour, divided
1 pkg. (2 teaspoons) yeast
2 Cups (8 oz.) shredded cheese
1 1/2 teaspoons salt
1 teaspoon sugar
3 eggs

Directions:
Warm butter, milk, and water together. In a large bowl, combine 1 1/2 cup flour and all other ingredients. Beat 3 minutes at medium speed. By hand, stir in remaining 1 cup flour. Cover.

Let rise until light, ~ 45-60 minutes.

 

 

Grease a 9×5 loaf pan (I use a nine-inch round Pyrex). Stir down dough, place in pan. Bake at 375º (350º for glass pan) 40-45 minutes.

 

 

When it comes out of the oven and is still hot, I like to coat the top with a generous coat of butter, then sprinkle with coarse kosher salt.

Entry filed under: Food. Tags: , , , , , .

I’m Hiring an HR Manager Pumpkin Squares

3 Comments Add your own

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


August 2012
S M T W T F S
« Jul   Dec »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  

Blog Stats

  • 15,113 hits

Subscribe:

Subscribe to blog

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 22 other followers


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

