Banana Bread

October 22, 2009 at 4:43 pm 2 comments

 bananas

You can’t swing a dead cat without hitting yet another banana bread recipe, but believe me – this one is awesome, and the one you will come back to when you really want a great texture and flavor. Sometimes my “tweaking” nature of fooling around with recipes works, sometimes it doesn’t. I have a pumpkin bread recipe that I really like, and thought I might just substitute smashed up bananas for the pumpkin, and have a real nice pumpkin bread. No dice. Sank like a stone, and therefore never got fully cooked in the center. One of the pumpkin bread recipes I had been using in our home was – let’s say – “bland.” I was trying to eat a little healthier, so I found one that used less fat and sugar, but for some recipes I guess taste trumps. The youngest daughter found one basically like this online. No, it’s probably not as “healthy” as the other one I was making – but is sure tastes better.

Ingredients:
1 cup mashed banana
1 cup sour cream
1/4 cup butter or margarine
1 cup white sugar
1/3 cup brown sugar
2 eggs
1 teaspoon vanilla extract
(optional: capful of banana extract)
2 cups all purpose flour
1 teaspoon baking soda
1 teaspoon baking powder
1/4 teaspoon salt

Directions
Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Grease and flour (really – works much better than spray grease) two loaf pans. (I suggested 4X8 so they’d be taller, but the daughter likes more top crust even though they’re not as tall, so we use 5X9.) Combine banana and sour cream. Set aside. In a large bowl, cream together the margarine and sugars until smooth. Beat in the eggs, then stir in the vanilla and mashed bananas. Combine the flour, baking soda, baking powder and salt in a separate bowl; stir into the banana mixture. Spread the batter evenly into the prepared pans. Bake 40 – 50 minutes, or until a toothpick inserted into the center comes out clean.

bananna bread on cutting board

Entry filed under: Food. Tags: , , , , , .

NEW I-9 FORM VALID THROUGH 2012 Free SHRM Membership Available to Active, Unemployed Members

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Calee  |  October 22, 2009 at 11:03 pm

    Uhh, if I ate the whole thing that means I ate a whole cup of sour cream! You shouldn’t share yummy things with me anymore. I really did eat almost the whole loaf by myself. Gross. Good thing I like to exercise!

    Like

    Reply
    • 2. bradcreerhrcooks  |  October 23, 2009 at 6:42 am

      Well, since it makes two loaves, you only at a half cup, so you’re OK!

      🙂

      Like

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


October 2009
S M T W T F S
« Sep   Nov »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

Blog Stats

  • 19,327 hits

Subscribe:

Subscribe to blog

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 216 other followers


