Best Damn Chewy Cookies on the Web

January 9, 2010 at 4:29 pm 3 comments

If I could remember where I saw the original of this cookie (it was called “Oatmeal Coconut Cookies”) I would give them the credit, but I visit a lot of cooking/recipe sites, and honestly can’t remember where I saw it. It was probably one of those linked over there on the right side of this page. If the original was yours, please chime in. In the “For What It’s Worth” category, I did “tweak” this recipe a bit from the form I first saw it in. For one thing, I’m a tad obsessive about combining all the wet ingredients in one bowl, and all the dry ingredients in another. For another thing, it’s just my nature to “tweak” recipes.

About the cocoa … this is not a chocolate cookie; there is just enough cocoa here to add some warmth, depth, and set off the cinnamon. I tried a batch without the cocoa hoping for a lighter colored cookie, as this is sort of grey in color and it just didn’t taste as good. So, suck up the somewhat dingy color, and get ready for one of the best tasting, best textured cookies you’ve ever had!

Ingredients:
1 cup salted butter, at room temperature
1/2 cup brown sugar
1 cup white sugar
1 teaspoon vanilla
2 eggs, at room temperature
1/4 cup hot water

+++++++++++++++++++++

1 cup sweetened coconut
2 cups quick cooking oats
2 cups flour
1 tablespoon cinnamon
1 tablespoon cocoa powder
1 teaspoon salt
1 teaspoon baking soda

Directions:
Heat the oven to 350 F and spray two cookie sheets with cooking spray. (You can line them with parchment if you have it.) In a medium mixing bowl add the first 6 ingredients, blend on low to medium speed until they are well combined. In another bowl, combine the remaining 7 ingredients. Combine the two bowls, being careful to not break your wooden spoon, the batter will be stiff. Scoop out the dough by the rounded tablespoons (you may have to form them a little with your hand), and place them on the prepared cookie sheet about two inches apart.  Bake for 18 to 20 minutes, or until slightly darker and firm. Cool for five minutes before removing to cool completely.

Entry filed under: Food. Tags: , , , , .

Christmas Bunt Cake Commonly Outsourced Activities

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Calee  |  January 12, 2010 at 12:09 am

    I can’t tell if I like the new blog format yet. Your old one somehow felt more “comfortable” to me, and I liked the calendar on the side. I’m such a creature of habit though; I’ll get used to it:).

    Like

    Reply
    • 2. bradcreerhrcooks  |  January 12, 2010 at 9:27 am

      Hey Calee, thanks for the feedback. I’ve added a calendar, but I’m not so sure this is the right theme for me either. I hope it’s not too unsettling if the theme changes a few more times before one “sticks”.

      Like

      Reply
      • 3. bradcreerhrcooks  |  January 12, 2010 at 8:30 pm

        I think this one is a little less heavy, and will hopefully be appropriate for both HR and food posts. Brandon indicated it may be hard to find something that works for both. The more I look at this one, the more I like it. Let me know what you think.

        Like

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


January 2010
S M T W T F S
« Dec   Feb »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

Blog Stats

  • 19,213 hits

Subscribe:

Subscribe to blog

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 216 other followers


