Cranberry Bars – Take Two

January 16, 2010 at 10:19 am 4 comments

There’s another recipe for Cranberry bars on this blog, dated October 17, 2009. That recipe started out like this one, but my “tweaking  nature” got the best of me, and I doubled the crust, so there would be a layer of crust on top and on bottom, with the cranberry sauce sandwiched in between. Well, that turns out to be just too much crust, so I’m reverting back to more of what the original recipe looked like, with only a top crust. I guess that would make it a “cranberry crisp” – sort of.

Ingredients:
1 (16 ounce) can jellied cranberry sauce*
2 1/3 cups rolled oats
3/4 cup flour
1 teaspoon cinnamon (you can also add a dash of nutmeg if you like)
1/2 teaspoon salt
1 1/2 cups packed brown sugar
1 cup butter, melted

Directions:
Preheat Preheat oven to 350 degrees F (175 degrees C). Spray a 9X13 baking dish with non-stick spray. Combine all ingredients EXCEPT the cranberry sauce. Spoon the cranberry sauce out into a small bowl and mash/soften it up (it’s pretty solid when it comes out of the can). *You can use either jelly or whole berry sauce. If you use the whole berry sauce, you may wish to pulse it a bit in your food processor to break up the whole berries*. Spread the cranberry sauce evenly into the bottom of the baking pan. Sprinkle crumb mixture on top, ever so lightly pressing it down into the sauce. Bake at 350 degrees F (175 degrees C) for 25 minutes. Cool and cut into squares. (Hint: given the high butter content of the crust, it will be more palatable if you allow it to come up to room temperature before serving.)

Entry filed under: Food. Tags: , , , .

Pay Employees for Drug Testing? What Goes Up Comes Down – Even Salaries

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Mckenzi  |  January 21, 2010 at 9:11 pm

    I think I like the layouts equally. For some reason every time I look at your blog I have to read your title a couple of times. I can’t make it sound right in my head ha ha.

    Like

    Reply
    • 2. bradcreerhrcooks  |  January 21, 2010 at 9:17 pm

      I’m stuck with the actual address, but I can change what you see in the title. Any suggestions? I want it to be accurate, yet intuitive.

      Like

      Reply
  • 3. Calee  |  January 19, 2010 at 12:54 am

    I like this new blog layout much better:)

    Like

    Reply
    • 4. bradcreerhrcooks  |  January 19, 2010 at 6:06 am

      On the whole, I think I do too. I lost a couple of things (will show you when you’re here), but gained enough more to make it worth it – I hope.

      Like

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


January 2010
S M T W T F S
« Dec   Feb »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

Blog Stats

  • 19,327 hits

Subscribe:

Subscribe to blog

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 216 other followers


