Soft Gingersnaps

February 12, 2011 at 7:42 pm 1 comment

This is one of my favorite cookies.  I’ve always liked gingersnaps, but this one has plusses; it’s soft and chewy (if “soft” and ginger”snap” aren’t too much an oxymoron), the spices are mild, and (wait for it …) its b-u-t-t-e-r-y!  Oh, yeah.

Ingredients:
3/4 cup (1 1/2 sticks) butter
1 cup sugar
1 egg
1/4 cup molasses
2 cups flour
2 teaspoons soda
1/2 teaspoon salt
1 1/4 teaspoon ground ginger
3/4 teaspoon cinnamon
1/2 teaspoon ground cloves

Directions:
Cream butter; add sugar gradually.  Beat until fluffy.  Add egg and molasses; blend.  Stir together flour, soda, salt and spices; blend into butter mixture.  Roll small portions of dough into balls the size of walnuts  I use a melon baller – they sell tiny little ice cream lookin’ scoops just for the purpose in the specialty cooking stores, but I’m cheap.  Roll in granulated sugar, place on lightly greased cookie sheet about 2 inches apart.  Bake at 350º 8 to 10 minutes or until they have melted and puffed.  For crisper cookies, bake until they have flattened.  Cookies bake down to form perfect rounds with traditional gingersnap cracks on top.  Careful not to over-bake them, or they won’t be soft and chewy.

Entry filed under: Food. Tags: , , .

W-4 for 2011 … Oh Henry Bars

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. Calee Creer  |  February 14, 2011 at 12:32 am

    I LOVE these. Oh I could eat them for a meal. (wait, I have done that – for breakfast).
    Do you think I’m a big enough girl to do our taxes by myself? Jed and I have done it together the past few years but I need to take over more now that he’s crazy busy. Maybe Kenz will lend her accounting services if I get stuck? I get nervous over dumb things you know;).

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


February 2011
S M T W T F S
« Jan   Mar »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728  

Blog Stats

  • 19,277 hits

Subscribe:

Subscribe to blog

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 216 other followers


